top of page

Wolf and the Bear


Synopsis:

Alex Hogg faces a simple choice as she reaches her 16th birthday: journey south across the country and bring back a relic form the cursed city of Glass and Bone, or spend the rest of her life in shame and poverty under the cruel hand of Spearheart, her adoptive Father. The prize? She stands to inherit his entire fortune, from the fertile feilds he owns to the lucrative mining and coal trade with which he controls the feudal lands around him.

But the way is dangerous and she cannot hope to make it safely there without a guide. When a chance meeting with a mysterious Dalesman known only as 'Bear' provides her with one, it sets Alex Hogg firmly on her quest, confidently that she'll return to claim her inheritance and enjoy riches beyond her imagination.

But his giant of a man has a past that's marked by the Old Days; the time before when mankind teetered on the brink of destruction, and it's this past that Alex soon learns stands directly in her way. An army is being built and rumors are rife that an ancient vault has been opened; that a new world order is being born that will see the weapons of a forgotten past used to create a terrifying new future. Strange ships are flying again and weapons that can kill form far away are being unsed to force villages and towns into submission. Behind it all is a man from Bear's past who, as their journey takes them deeper into his plans, threatens to bring about a new apocalypse for a people who berely survived the last.

 

Review:

This story is unique one, its an adventure of a young girl and "The Bear". I like this story but their are times that I need to put it down because of the so called talking scenes.

There are a lot of lines that I highlighted because it makes me smile and think about my life. It gives me courage when I'm down.

I listed my favorite lines below:

"... we are here no because long ago people stop looking back before striding ahead. People forgot the past. They forgot who they were in the world. They forgot that, in the end, time does take us all."

"I was your age and I seldom forget the delicate heart we seemed fated to carry with us and people will always fail to realize how easily it is hurt."

"I've always looked at trust as something to put down as an investment. When you trust someone, you're investing that trust in them and you hope you'll get a good return. But there are good investments and there are bad ones. How much you invest is up to you. How much are you willing to lose if it doesn't turn out the way you wanted it to?"

There are more of it inside and I help me a lot. I've been through some challenges this last month but in the end, its my decision to make.

 

Note:

I used to post it before august ends but I need to cope up with my studies. Thank you for reading this guys and thank you for Mr. Martyn for giving me this amazing book.

 

Rating:

3/5

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page